Japan listed financial groups investable universe

ConfidenceLikelyUpdated2026-07-29Review by2027-01-29Sources14Machine-translatedOriginal (JA)

On this page

Wiki route

This page sits under finance index. It is a public-source reference universe for Japan-listed financial groups, read against japan-ib-league-table for adviser-side peer mapping, japan-activist-investor-playbook for engagement / control reading, japan-large-shareholding-disclosure for stake disclosure mechanics, japan-shareholder-proposal-and-agm-voting-route for AGM / stewardship route, and finance INDEX for entity-level pages. System-side context lives at tokyo-stock-exchange and japan-market-infrastructure-map.

TL;DR

This is a reference universe map of Japan-listed financial groups, organised by sub-sector. It is NOT a buy / sell list, NOT investment advice, NOT a recommendation, and NOT a model portfolio. Company names, codes, and listing status are an editorial snapshot checked against the June 2026 month-end file published on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. This is a month-end / list-publication context, not a daily as-of claim. Business perimeter, ownership, index membership, and financial metrics must be established separately from dated issuer, JPX, EDINET, or index-provider records.

Universe Scope

Source: coverage is an editorial taxonomy checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page; it is representative rather than exhaustive and does not establish investability for any reader.

Sub-sector Coverage in this page
Megabank financial groups The four core megabank / large-bank FG anchors.
Trust FG The single listed large trust FG anchor.
Regional bank FGs Representative listed regional FGs across geography and size; not exhaustive.
Net banks / digital banks Recently-listed digital / online bank anchors and adjacent fintech-banking listed names.
Major life and non-life insurers Listed life and non-life insurance groups.
Major securities Listed independent and online securities groups; megabank-affiliated securities arms sit under their parent FG.
Card / consumer finance Listed card issuers and consumer finance lenders.
Leasing Listed general / equipment / bank-affiliated leasing groups.
Telco-finance hybrid Listed telcos that hold a financial group of meaningful scale.
Fintech / crypto-adjacent Listed groups whose financial business is fintech-led or crypto-adjacent.

The universe is read against finance INDEX, which is the entity-level index for individual issuers.

Universe Matrix Fields

Source: the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page is the control used here for issuer name, code, and listing status in that month-end / list-publication context. The tables intentionally omit market capitalisation, ROE, yield, foreign ownership, index membership, capital-return policy, and risk rankings because those fields require a named observation date and primary evidence.

Field Treatment in this page
Entity / ticker Snapshot checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly-data page.
Editorial category Navigation label only; verify the current business perimeter in the issuer’s latest securities report.
Ownership note Included only where a dated issuer disclosure is linked in the row.
Metrics / index status Not stated; retrieve from dated issuer or index-provider records.

Megabank FGs

Source: entity names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. Category labels are navigation aids, not current financial or investment conclusions.

Entity Ticker Editorial category
mufg 8306 Megabank financial group
smfg 8316 Megabank financial group
mizuho-fg 8411 Megabank financial group
Resona HD 8308 Large domestic banking group

Read these against japan-ib-league-table for adviser-side franchise depth and finance INDEX for entity-level pages.

Trust FG

Source: the entity name, code, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page.

Entity Ticker Editorial category
Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Group 8309 Trust-bank financial group

Regional FGs (representative)

This list is representative, not exhaustive. Names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page; geography is an editorial navigation label that should be confirmed from the issuer profile.

Entity Ticker Editorial geography
Concordia FG 7186 Kanto
Mebuki FG 7167 Kanto / Tohoku
Fukuoka FG 8354 Kyushu
Yamaguchi FG 8418 Chugoku
Shizuoka FG 5831 Tokai
Kyushu FG 7180 Kyushu
Hokuhoku FG 8377 Hokkaido / Hokuriku
Hirogin HD 7337 Chugoku
Tokyo Kiraboshi FG 7173 Tokyo metropolitan area
Nishi-Nippon FH 7189 Kyushu
Dai-shi Hokuetsu FG 7327 Niigata
Hokkoku FH 7381 Hokuriku

For any engagement analysis, first establish the current holder, proposal, voting record, and issuer response through the routes in japan-activist-investor-playbook.

Net banks / digital banks and bank-adjacent listed names

Source: entity names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. Rakuten Group’s ownership figure is taken from its February 25, 2026 disclosure.

Entity Ticker Editorial category Dated ownership note
Rakuten Bank 5838 Listed internet bank Rakuten Group disclosed 49.26% as of the transaction described on February 25, 2026; re-check later filings before use.
Mercari 4385 Marketplace with financial-service activities; adjacent to, not itself classified here as, a bank Not stated.

SBI Sumishin Net Bank (code 7163) is excluded from this listed-company snapshot because JPX recorded its September 25, 2025 delisting. Establish any later parent or business-perimeter statement from a current issuer filing rather than from the former listing.

Major insurers (listed)

Source: names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. Insurance-business labels are editorial navigation categories.

Entity Ticker Editorial category
dai-ichi-life HD 8750 Life-insurance group
sompo HD 8630 Non-life-insurance group
Tokio Marine HD 8766 Non-life-insurance group
MS&AD Insurance Group HD 8725 Insurance group

Life insurers are read with japan-large-shareholding-disclosure when the cross-holding unwind shows up on the disclosure surface.

Major securities

Source: names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. The category is a research-routing label; current segment composition belongs to the issuer’s dated filings.

Entity Ticker Editorial category
nomura-hd 8604 Securities group
Daiwa Securities Group 8601 Securities group
Monex Group 8698 Online brokerage / financial-services group
Matsui Securities 8628 Online securities company
SBI HD 8473 Financial-services group

Read these with japan-ib-league-table for advisory franchise depth; megabank-affiliated securities arms (SMBC Nikko, Mizuho Securities, MUFG / MUMS) sit inside parent FG entries above and inside finance INDEX.

Card / consumer finance

Source: names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. Pocket Card is excluded because JPX records its February 1, 2018 delisting. Acom’s ownership figure is taken from its issuer stock-information page, dated March 31, 2026.

Entity Ticker Editorial category Dated ownership note
Aeon Financial Service 8570 Card / financial services Not stated.
Credit Saison 8253 Card / finance Not stated.
Acom 8572 Consumer finance Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group, Inc. 37.57% as of March 31, 2026; re-check later issuer filings.
Aiful 8515 Consumer finance Not stated.
JACCS 8584 Card / instalment finance Not stated.
Orient (Orico) 8585 Card / instalment / guarantee Not stated.

For risk analysis, use each issuer’s latest securities report and financial disclosures; the category label does not establish a current risk ranking.

Leasing

Source: names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. The category is an editorial routing label.

Entity Ticker Editorial category
ORIX 8591 Diversified financial services
Tokyo Century 8439 Leasing / specialty finance
Mitsubishi HC Capital 8593 Leasing / finance
Fuyo General Lease 8424 Leasing / finance
Mizuho Leasing 8425 Leasing / finance

Unlisted peers are outside this universe; verify their ownership and business perimeter separately from current issuer records.

Telco-finance / payment hybrid

Source: names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. SoftBank Group is the group shorthand; the direct holder identified on SoftBank Corp’s issuer stock-information page, dated March 31, 2026, is SoftBank Group Japan Corporation.

Entity Ticker Editorial category Dated ownership note
KDDI 9433 Telecom group with financial-service activities Not stated.
SoftBank Corp 9434 Telecom group with financial-service activities SoftBank Group Japan Corporation 40.10% as of March 31, 2026; re-check later issuer filings.

These hybrid entries are useful to read alongside finance INDEX because the financial subsidiary balance sheets are disclosed inside the telco parent.

Fintech / crypto

Source: names, codes, and listing status were checked against the June 2026 month-end file on JPX’s monthly listed-company data page. Business mix must be checked against each issuer’s latest securities report.

Entity Ticker Editorial category
Monex Group 8698 Online brokerage / crypto-adjacent financial services
Remixpoint 3825 Crypto-adjacent listed company

Monex appears in both the “Securities” matrix and here, because the fintech sub-sector intersects with the listed-securities sub-sector.

Index Inclusion Layer

Source: this table provides verification routes, not constituent claims. Use JPX TOPIX materials, the Nikkei Indexes constituent data, and the relevant FTSE Russell constituent file current on the decision date.

Index / dataset Verification rule
Nikkei 225 Verify the current constituent file and effective date from Nikkei Indexes; do not infer membership from market size.
TOPIX Verify current membership and transition status from JPX data; a TSE listing does not by itself prove current TOPIX membership.
TOPIX Core 30 / Large 70 Verify the current size-based sub-index constituent file and rebalance effective date from JPX.
FTSE Russell Japan Verify current membership, review date, and effective date from the licensed index-provider data.

Index inclusion rotates; always re-confirm against tokyo-stock-exchange and the JPX TOPIX methodology page before relying on a name’s index status.

Stewardship / Engagement Anchor Layer

The engagement route is documented in japan-shareholder-proposal-and-agm-voting-route and japan-activist-investor-playbook. The following are research questions, not claims that any named issuer is currently subject to a campaign:

  • cost of capital, PBR < 1.0 pressure, and capital-policy disclosure (TSE cost-of-capital request);
  • cross-holding (政策保有株) unwind pace and disclosure;
  • payout ratio, buyback policy, and total shareholder return policy;
  • board independence, nomination, compensation, and skill matrix;
  • conglomerate discount and segment disclosure (for SBI HD, ORIX, KDDI, SoftBank Corp, Mercari);
  • governance event response (Mizuho FG system events, Sompo HD agency-channel governance events, regional FG-specific events).

Cross-holding unwind for insurers and megabanks shows up on the japan-large-shareholding-disclosure surface when blocks move; activist or strategic positions in regional FGs and consumer finance issuers also surface there.

Capital-Action Layer

Recent capital actions across this universe (presence-only descriptor; verify before use):

Source: this is an evidence-requirement table. Establish any issuer-specific action through JPX TDnet, EDINET, and the issuer’s dated filing; the table makes no current issuer-level assertion.

Action class Required primary evidence
Buyback programme Board-resolution disclosure, amount / period / method, completion notices, and cancellation or treasury-stock treatment.
Cross-holding unwind Current securities report, governance report, and dated disposal disclosure where material.
Capital-and-business alliance Executed agreement disclosure, ownership change, conditions, and effective date.
TOB target Tender-offer announcement / statement, target opinion, amendments, result, and post-offer ownership.
Activist or large-shareholding target Large Shareholding Report / amendment, stated purpose, joint holders, and issuer response.
Convertible / equity-linked issuance Pricing and terms announcement, securities filing, use of proceeds, dilution, and settlement / conversion terms.

For any specific capital action, the primary record is the issuer’s TDnet release, EDINET securities report or extraordinary report, and the issuer IR page. None of the above is investment advice.

Risk-Diligence Questions by Sub-Sector

Source: the table is an analytical diligence-question taxonomy—not issuer facts—derived from the public filing routes described above. Validate materiality and direction from each issuer’s current financial, regulatory, and risk disclosures.

Sub-sector Questions to test in current filings
Megabank FG What do dated filings say about net interest income, securities valuation, credit costs, FX, capital, and operational events?
Trust FG What do dated filings say about trust fees, asset-management flows, real estate, and fiduciary controls?
Regional FG What do dated filings say about deposits, loans, securities portfolios, credit costs, and branch economics?
Net bank What do dated filings say about deposits, funding, credit quality, group transactions, and regulation?
Life insurance What do dated filings say about duration, rates, equities, FX, underwriting, and solvency?
Non-life insurance What do dated filings say about catastrophe losses, underwriting, FX, governance, and strategic holdings?
Securities What do dated filings say about trading, retail flows, litigation, capital, and cost controls?
Card / consumer finance What do dated filings say about credit costs, funding, regulation, refunds, and group transactions?
Leasing What do dated filings say about margins, funding, asset values, and overseas exposures?
Telco-finance hybrid What do dated filings say about subsidiary perimeter, credit, funding, payments, and regulation?
Fintech / crypto What do dated filings say about custody, valuation, liquidity, regulation, and disclosure controls?

Reader Verification Checklist

Before using any line in this page in any real-world decision, the reader should:

  1. Open the issuer’s TDnet recent-disclosure feed via JPX TDnet.
  2. Pull the most recent securities report and extraordinary reports from EDINET.
  3. Cross-check index inclusion (Nikkei 225 / TOPIX / TOPIX Core 30 / FTSE Russell) against the JPX TOPIX methodology page and the relevant index provider.
  4. Re-confirm the latest kessan tanshin and IR deck on the issuer’s IR page.
  5. For stewardship / engagement reading, cross-reference japan-shareholder-proposal-and-agm-voting-route and japan-activist-investor-playbook.
  6. For large-shareholding stakes, pull the EDINET 大量保有報告書 / 変更報告書 stack per japan-large-shareholding-disclosure.
  7. Date-stamp the verification step in the reader’s own notes; this page’s matrix descriptors are public-surface-only and will go stale.

Caveats

  • This is a public-surface reference universe page, not a model portfolio, not a recommendation, not investment advice, not tax advice, not legal advice.
  • Names, codes, listing status, and editorial categories can change through mergers, TOBs, reorganisations, and corporate actions; this page records the June 2026 month-end / list-publication context from JPX’s monthly-data page.
  • This page deliberately omits ROE, dividend yield, foreign ownership, capital-policy rankings, and constituent assertions. Retrieve them from dated primary or licensed sources.
  • Index inclusion rotates periodically; the current index-provider constituent record controls.
  • Some financial businesses sit inside listed parents rather than as standalone listings. Establish the current parent perimeter from dated issuer filings.
  • Private financial groups (e.g. JA Mitsui Leasing, mutual life insurers) are explicitly out of scope for an “investable universe” page because they are not listed.
  • Data verification is the reader’s responsibility. The FinWiki public-surface convention is route-and-link, NOT signal generation.

Sources

  • JPX: TDnet timely-disclosure portal.
  • EDINET: statutory disclosure portal.
  • JPX: TOPIX index methodology page.
  • JPX: listed-company issuer search and TDnet English page.
  • FSA: Stewardship Code and Corporate Governance Reform pages.
  • Each issuer’s IR page, latest kessan tanshin, securities report, and governance report (reader-verifiable, not reproduced here).
#finance#japan#listed-financials#megabank#insurance#securities

Discovery

Keep reading

Related

Read next

Links here