Bitbank, Inc. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operator overview
ConfidenceLikelyUpdated2026-07-29Review by2027-01-29Sources6Machine-translatedOriginal (JA)
On this page
Wiki route
This entry sits under exchanges index. Read it with FSA crypto-asset exchange registration system — number system / Local Finance Bureau jurisdiction / registration requirements for adjacent context and Japan Financial Regulation — Legal Framework for Tokens, Crypto Assets, and Payments for the broader system boundary.
FSA registration number Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00004号 · JVCEA member #1004 · registration date 2017-09-29
1. Corporate entity / shareholders
- Trade name: bitbank Inc. (English: Bitbank, Inc.)
- Corporate number: 1010801024625 (confirmed in the National Tax Agency corporate-number DB)
- Corporate-number assignment date: 平成27年10月5日 (2015-10-05)
- Established: 2014
- Head-office location: Tokyo Midtown Yaesu, Yaesu Central Tower 10F, 2-2-1 Yaesu, Chuo-ku, Tokyo (relocated from Nishi-Gotanda, Shinagawa-ku as of 2026年2月6日)
- Parent company / shareholder structure: Unlisted. On June 25, 2026, bitbank, SBI Holdings, SBICAH, and existing shareholders entered into agreements for SBICAH’s planned acquisition of full ownership. The share transfer is scheduled for around August and full ownership, after a share buyback, for around October 2026; the transaction had not closed as of 2026-07-29. ^[Sources: https://bitbank.cc/announcement/20260625_01; https://www.sbigroup.co.jp/news/2026/0625_16429.html.]
- Corporate site: https://bitbank.cc/
2. License / registration status
- Crypto-asset exchange business: Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00004号 (registration date 2017-09-29)
- Financial instruments business: the current JVCEA listing shows only the crypto-asset exchange business. The official site offers credit trading using the spot order book, but the JVCEA listing does not show a crypto-asset derivatives category
- Electronic payment instruments business / funds-transfer business: Not disclosed
- JVCEA membership type: Type I, crypto-asset exchange business only (confirmed in the JVCEA member list; no derivatives-exchange certification)
3. Handled currencies
- Number of handled tokens: the official site maintains a current supported-assets page, which takes precedence over a fixed count in this entry
- Major tokens (publicly known): BTC, ETH, XRP, LTC, BCC (BCH), MONA, XLM, QTUM, BAT, IOST, XEM and many others
- Characteristics: bitbank displays an “No. 1 domestic altcoin trading volume” claim based on its own analysis of JVCEA data for November 2024 through October 2025. This is an attributed advertising claim for a defined period, not a permanent ranking.
4. Scope of business
- Spot trading: Spot buy/sell (exchange / brokerage)
- Credit trading: offered on the spot-exchange order book
- Crypto-asset lending: the “Lend and Increase” service is offered
- Business clients: the official site presents dedicated support, custody, and subaccounts
- Fiat-deposit channel: bank transfer
5. Market share / trading volume
- Trading volume: bitbank displays an attributed No. 1 domestic altcoin trading-volume claim limited to its own analysis for November 2024 through October 2025. This entry does not restate the comparison value without the calculation period and JVCEA-data context.
- Number of accounts: Not disclosed
- Customer base: Centered on retail (individual investors). Corporate services are also offered.
- Competitive positioning: no permanent ranking or relative volume against peers is asserted. For an industry comparison of spot trading volume, see JVCEA Domestic Spot Trading Volume Statistical Analysis (2017-2026).
6. History / major events
This table is limited to verifiable corporate and regulatory milestones. FTX Japan was acquired by bitFlyer Holdings on July 26, 2024 and renamed Custodiem that August; the former claim that bitbank absorbed it has been removed. ^[Sources: https://bitbank.cc/; https://jvcea.or.jp/member/; https://bitflyer.com/pub/20240726-Completion-of-FTX-Japan-K.K.-Share-Acquisition-en.pdf.]
| Year-Month | Item |
|---|---|
| 2014 | Established |
| 2015-10-05 | Corporate number assigned (confirmed in the National Tax Agency DB) |
| 2017-09-29 | FSA crypto-asset exchange business registration (Kanto Local Finance Bureau 第00004号) |
| 2026-02-06 | Relocated head office from Nishi-Gotanda, Shinagawa-ku to Yaesu, Chuo-ku (Tokyo Midtown Yaesu, Central Tower 10F) |
7. Strategic developments
- Product expansion: the official site presents spot exchange and brokerage, credit trading, crypto-asset lending, and services for business clients.
- Head-office relocation (February 2026): relocated to Tokyo Midtown Yaesu.
- Planned entry into the SBI Group (June 2026): agreements were signed for full ownership by SBICAH. The official timetable targets the share transfer for around August and full ownership after a share buyback for around October 2026; as of 2026-07-29 the transaction had not closed.
- Within the bitbank, SBI, JVCEA, and FSA materials designated for this review and checked on 2026-07-29, no IPO disclosure was identified. This is not an assertion that none exists.
8. Related persons
- Representative Director CEO: Noriyuki Hirosue. Recognized as public information.
- Founder: Noriyuki Hirosue is publicly identified as the founding CEO. The capital structure at establishment is assessed only within available public information.
- Details of other officers / major shareholders: not disclosed.
Related
- japan-financial-regulation — Japan financial regulation overall
- japan-bittrade-listing-process — general theory of the listing process (distinguished from an individual firm’s listing activity)
- japan-stablecoin-regulatory-landscape — related stablecoin regime
- jp-exchange-bitflyer — peer bitFlyer overview
- jp-exchange-bittrade — peer BitTrade (formerly Huobi Japan) overview
- jvcea-whitelist-token-listing — JVCEA whitelist token listing reference
- jp-vasp-parent-company-map — JP VASP parent company map
Sources
- JVCEA member list (retrieved 2026-05-18)
- National Tax Agency corporate-number disclosure site — bitbank Inc. (retrieved 2026-05-18)
- FSA crypto-asset exchange operator registration list Excel (snapshot 令和8年4月1日 = 2026-04-01)
- bitbank official service site (retrieved 2026-07-29)
- bitbank — agreements for planned full ownership and entry into the SBI Group (June 25, 2026; retrieved 2026-07-29)
- SBI Holdings — agreements for planned full ownership of bitbank (June 25, 2026; retrieved 2026-07-29)
- bitFlyer Holdings — completion of FTX Japan share acquisition (primary source for the attribution correction; reviewed 2026-07-29)
Discovery
Keep reading
Read next
- BitTrade Inc. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operator overviewThis table is based on BitTrade's current transaction guide, official service information, and JVCEA membership category. Current documents take precedence for variable conditions such as as...
- BTCBOX Co., Ltd. — Japan crypto-asset exchange operator overviewThis table is based on milestones confirmed in BTCBOX's official company profile and history, the JVCEA member listing, and FSA registration materials.
- Coinbase K.K.(Coinbase 株式会社)— Japan crypto-asset-exchange operator(dormant)overview※ former location: Otemachi Building 4F, FINOLAB(Otemachi, Chiyoda-ku)
Links here
- CEX API / SDK ecosystem comparison — developer interfaces of domestic / overseas exchangesThe developer interfaces exposed by CEXs are broadly standardized across 3 tiers: (a) REST API (order placement · balance lookup · trade history · KYC settings, etc. — state-changing + snaps...
- FSA crypto operator registry — snapshot delta logThe FSA "Registry of Crypto Asset Exchange Service Providers" (kasoutuka.xlsx) and the JVCEA member list are a continuously changing primary registry, with new registrations, business closur...
- Japan VASP business-model competitive matrix — comparison of 39 社's business segments / revenue structures / differentiation axesThe FSA crypto-asset exchange service provider registry lists 26 operators as of 2026-06-30. The matrix's 39 analytical rows also include crypto-asset derivatives, electronic-payment-instrum...
- JCBA — Japan Crypto-asset Business AssociationThe Japan Crypto-asset Business Association (JCBA), a general incorporated association is an industry body targeting a broad range of crypto-asset / Web3 businesses not limited to crypto-ass...
- Domestic CEX × deposit tokens / EPI integration strategy — DCJPY / Progmat / JPYC collaborationThe 2022-06 amended Payment Services Act brought into force the system of the three EPI (electronic payment instrument) types — trust type / bank type / funds-transfer-operator type — establ...