中央労働金庫 (Chuo Rokin / Central Labour Bank)
ConfidenceLikelyUpdated2026-07-29Review by2026-11-21Sources7Machine-translatedOriginal (JA)
On this page
Wiki route
This entry sits under cooperative-banks INDEX as the operating-company anchor for the rokin (labour bank) system in the Kanto area, parallel to Kyoto Chuo Shinkin Bank (shinkin) and Osaka Commercial Bank Credit Union (shinkumi). Read it against Labor Bank Federation (Rokinren) for the cooperative-system central institution, rokin registry for the 13-rokin landscape, and cooperative banking domain for the broader regulatory boundary.
TL;DR
The Chuo Labor Bank (Chuo Rokin) is a wide-area labor bank that operates in 1 metropolis and 7 prefectures in the Kanto region. Based on the Labor Bank Act, the business base is Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, and Yamanashi. Its members are worker organizations such as labor unions, consumer cooperatives, and NPOs, and it handles deposits and loans for housing, education, automobiles, etc. for workers. The legal organizational form and membership base are different from Japan Bank, Shinkin Bank, and JA Bank.
1. License / organizational structure
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Formal name | 中央労働金庫 |
| Common name | 中央ろうきん / 中央労金 |
| English name | Chuo Rokin Bank / Central Labour Bank |
| Financial-institution code | 2960 |
| Governing law | Labour Bank Act |
| Established | 2001 年 4 月 1 日 (by integration of 8 rokin across 1 metropolises and 7 prefectures) • |
| Operating area | Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Yamanashi (1 metropolises and 7 prefectures) |
| system | Labor Bank Federation member |
| Supervisory authority | FSA / Kanto Local Finance Bureau + Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (cooperative-organization side) |
| Wiki role | Kanto wide area operating-company anchor |
Composition of the 13 labour banks •
| Region | Rokin name | Operating area |
|---|---|---|
| Hokkaido | Hokkaido Labour Bank | Hokkaido |
| Tohoku | Tohoku Labour Bank | Aomori, Iwate, Miyagi, Akita, Yamagata, Fukushima |
| Kanto (this page) | Chuo Rokin | Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Yamanashi |
| Niigata | Niigata Prefecture Labour Bank | Niigata |
| Nagano | Nagano Prefecture Labour Bank | Nagano |
| Shizuoka | Shizuoka Prefecture Labour Bank | Shizuoka |
| Hokuriku | Hokuriku Labour Bank | Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui |
| Tokai | Tokai Labour Bank | Aichi, Gifu, Mie |
| Kinki | Kinki Labour Bank | Shiga, Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Nara, Wakayama |
| Chugoku | Chugoku Labour Bank | Tottori, Shimane, Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi |
| Shikoku | Shikoku Labour Bank | Tokushima, Kagawa, Ehime, Kochi |
| Kyushu | Kyushu Labour Bank | Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki, Kagoshima |
| Okinawa | Okinawa Prefecture Labour Bank | Okinawa |
Note: from 47 prefecture-by-prefecture rokin (47 行), through regional integration, to the current 13 行 structure •
Key chronology •
| Year | Event |
|---|---|
| 1950 | Hyogo Prefecture Labour Bank established (the 第 1 号domestic rokin) |
| 1953 | Labour Bank Act enacted |
| 1955 | Rokinren (Rokinren) established |
| 1950〜60 s | 47 prefecture-by-prefecture rokin structure |
| 1990 年s | Discussion of operational efficiency / regional integration begins |
| 2001-04-01 | Chuo Rokin (中央ろうきん) established through integration of 8 rokin — Tokyo Rokin + Kanagawa Rokin + Saitama Rokin + Chiba Rokin + Ibaraki Rokin + Tochigi Rokin + Gunma Rokin + Yamanashi Rokin • |
| 2000 年s | Nationwide regional integration proceeds; transition from the 47 to the 13 行 structure completed |
| 2010 年s | Rokin app / digitalization promotion |
| 2020〜 | Emergency lending / special measures for workers during the COVID pandemic |
| 2024〜 | System DX + strengthening of ESG investment / social finance |
Main business lines •
| Business | Detail | Industry counterpart |
|---|---|---|
| Individual deposits | Liquidity / time deposits of worker households | Same type as banks / shinkin |
| Home loans | Home-acquisition funds for workers (flagship product) | Handles Flat 35 , etc. |
| Education loans | University admission / education costs | Flagship |
| Auto loans | Car-purchase funds | Flagship |
| Purpose-specific loans | Marriage, ceremonial occasions, medical | Worker-welfare-specialized |
| Asset-formation savings (財形) | Payroll-deduction type / housing asset-formation | Worker-exclusive product |
| Group transactions | Settlement accounts for labour unions, co-ops, NPOs | Member-organization-exclusive |
| JGB / 投信 over-the-counter sales | Via the system (via Rokinren) | Limited |
ALM / fund flow •
Members (worker households + member labour unions, co-ops, NPOs)
→ deposits → Chuo Rokin
→ home loans, education loans, asset-formation savings, etc. for workers in the region
→ surplus-fund deposit → Rokin Renraku
→ institutional investment + system feedback
→ Chuo Rokin → dividends / service feedback to members
Scale (as of 2025-03 ) •
| Indicator | Value | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Deposit balance | 6 兆 8,913 億円 | Central Roukin Overview 2025-03 end |
| Loans | 4 兆 7,609 億円 | centered on home loans (ibid.) |
| Capital contributions | 288 億円 | group members 11,318 members (ibid.) |
| Number of branches | 130 店 branches | 1 -metropolis 7 -prefecture wide area (ibid.) |
| Capital adequacy ratio | 10.96% | (ibid.) |
Note: Chuo Roukin does not disclose its non-consolidated “total assets” in summary. For details, see Chuo Roukin Official Overview See Disclosure.
Representativeness within the 13 rokin
- Labor Federation One of the 13 Labor Banks with the central organization
- Committed to operating the system IT / R・ONE system, analogous to JASTEM (Rokinren shared infrastructure) •
Home-loan flagship model
- Chuo Rokin’s flagship product = home loans for workers
- Flat 35 + combined use of bank-type proprietary loans + special rates for workers
- A competitive structure with banks (megabanks / regional banks) + shinkin, but the preferential rates via member organizations provide differentiation
Digital strategy
- Rokin app: balance inquiry, transfers, home-loan balance management •
- R・ONE shared system: the 13 -rokin shared infrastructure via Rokinren •
4. KPI / soundness
| Indicator | Value (as of 2025-03 ) | Comparison |
|---|---|---|
| deposit | 6 兆 8,913 億円 | Official summary published value |
| Loans | 4 兆 7,609 億円 | centered on home loans |
| Capital contributions | 288 億円 | - |
| Equity ratio | 10.96% | Domestic standards |
| Number of branches | 130 店 branches | 1 -metropolis 7 -prefecture wide area |
| Number of full-time officers and employees | 3,008 名 | - |
| Number of group members | 11,318 members | approximately 422 万 indirect constituents |
Sources: Chuo Labor Bank “Overview of the Safe”(2025-03-31 the current). Comparative rankings are not included because they are outside the scope of this document.
Note: figures are from the Chuo Rokin official outline (as of 2025-03 ). Standalone total assets are not disclosed in the outline.
5. Supervision / regulation
- Jurisdiction: FSA / Kanto Local Finance Bureau (financial soundness) + Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (cooperative-organization supervision)
- Legal basis: Labour Bank Act (昭和 28 年 Act No. 第 227 号)
- Deposit insurance: Deposit Insurance Corporation of Japan (DIC) general-financial-institution coverage (limit 1,000 万円 + interest)
- Recent policy issues:
- Digital advancement of the Rokin app + R・ONE system
- Home-loan rate strategy during the rate-normalization period
- Development of new products for young workers amid declining birthrate and aging population
- Strengthening of ESG investment / social finance (NPO group lending, etc.)
Related
- rokin-renraku — Rokinren (the higher central institution of this rokin)
- shinkin-central — Shinkin Central Bank (cooperative-organization finance comparison)
- zenshin-kumi — Zenshinkumiren (cooperative-organization finance comparison)
- norinchukin — Norinchukin Bank (cooperative-organization finance comparison)
- osaka-shogin-shinkumi — Osaka Shogin Shinkumi (shinkumi operating-company)
- kyoto-chuo-shinkin — Kyoto Chuo Shinkin (shinkin operating-company)
- osaka-shinkin — Osaka Shinkin (shinkin operating-company)
- yokohama-shinkin — Yokohama Shinkin (Kanto peer shinkin)
- yokohama-bank — Bank of Yokohama (Kanto regional-bank peer)
- dic — Deposit Insurance Corporation of Japan
- rokin-bank-registry-japan — labour-bank 13 -bank registry
- cooperative-banking-japan — cooperative-organization finance as a whole
- cooperative-banks INDEX
Sources
- 中央労働金庫 公式: https://chuo.rokin.com/
- 中央労働金庫 概要 (2025-03 末: 預金 6 兆 8,913 億円・貸出金 4 兆 7,609 億円・出資金 288 億円・自己資本比率 10.96%・店舗 130・団体会員 11,318・役職員 3,008 名): https://chuo.rokin.com/aboutus/profile/
- 労働金庫連合会 公式: https://www.rokinren.com/
- 労金連 主要経営指標の推移 (2025-03 末 13 労金合算/中央機関統計: 総資産 8 兆 316 億円): https://www.rokinren.com/keieishihyo-suii.html
- 金融庁 労働金庫免許一覧: https://www.fsa.go.jp/menkyo/menkyoj/rokin.xlsx
- 労働金庫法 (昭和 28 年法律第 227 号)
- 全国労働金庫協会 (全労済協会) 公開資料
[!info] Confidence note confidence: likely. Based on the Chuo Rokin official outline (as of 2025-03 ) + Rokinren management indicators. Deposits 6.9 兆円, loans 4.8 兆円, branches 130, and capital adequacy ratio 10.96% are sourced from the official outline (confirmed figures). Standalone total assets are not quantified as they are not disclosed in the official outline; scale is described on a deposit basis. The 8 -rokin integration history • of 2001-04-01 is public information. This entry is positioned as the operating-company anchor of the largest of the 13 rokin, placed as a peer operating entry to Rokinren (cooperative-system central).
Discovery
Keep reading
Read next
- Fukuoka Prefecture Credit CooperativeFukuoka Prefectural Credit Union is a prefecture-based regional credit union with its main office located in Akasaka, Chuo-ku, Fukuoka City, Fukuoka Prefecture. FSA registry No.128 (Fukuoka...
- Gifu Shinkin BankGifu Shinkin Bank is a credit union whose head office is located in Kanda-cho, Gifu City, Gifu Prefecture, with official business areas in Gifu and Aichi prefectures. Founded in 1924, the co...
- Hamamatsu Iwata Shinkin BankHamamatsu Iwata Shinkin Bank (Hamashin) is a major regional shinkin bank headquartered in Chuo-ku, Hamamatsu City, Shizuoka Prefecture, with its main operating base in western Shizuoka Prefe...